Ethics Committee

Under the authority set out in Article II of the Alaska State Constitution, the legislature established the Select Committee on Legislative Ethics to administer the Legislative Ethics Act, AS 24.60.

The Ethics Act applies to:

The requirements and prohibitions in the Legislative Ethics Act apply to legislators, most employees of the legislative branch, and the public members of the Ethics Committee. The committee does not have jurisdiction over state employees who work in the Alaska State Government Executive Branch.

The Select Committee on Legislative Ethics is responsible for:

  • Helping people understand and comply with the Alaska Legislative Ethics Act
  • Issuing formal advisory opinions interpreting the Ethics Act
  • Considering complaints alleging violations of the Act
  • Maintaining public files of disclosure statements

The Select Committee on Legislative Ethics is composed of:

The Ethics Committee has nine members: two senators, two representatives and five public members. For the purpose of considering most complaints, the Ethics Committee is divided into a House Subcommittee and a Senate Subcommittee.

Elected officials, who serve two-year terms, are appointed by the leadership of the respective body, along with the concurrence of two-thirds of the full membership of that body.

MemberTerm Expires

Sen. David Wilson, Wasilla

       Alternate Member:  Sen. Gary Stevens

Jan 2023

Legislator, Senate Majority

Legislator, Senate Majority

Sen. Tom Begich, Anchorage

        Alternate Member:  Sen. Elvi Gray-Jackson


Jan 2023

Legislator, Senate Minority

Legislator, Senate Minority

Rep. Sara Hannan

        Alternate Member: Rep. Chris Tuck


Jan 2023

Legislator, House Majority

Legislator, House Majority

Rep. DeLena Johnson

        Alternate Member: Rep. David Eastman


Jan 2023

Legislator, House Minority

Legislator, House Minority

Public members, who serve a three-year term, are selected by the Chief Justice of the Alaska Supreme Court and ratified by two thirds of the full membership of the legislature.


CHAIR Deb Fancher, Anchorage

2020 - 2023


Joyce M. Anderson, Anchorage

2021 - 2024


Dennis “Skip” Cook, Fairbanks

2021 - 2024


H. Conner Thomas, Nome

2019 - 2022


Lee Holmes, Anchorage

2020 - 2023


Alternate Public Member
Gerald McBeath, Fairbanks


Interested in becoming a public member of the Ethics Committee?

Click here for more information about becoming a public member or alternate public member of the Ethics Committee.

How the committee operates:

The committee meets on an “as needed” basis. The committee chair is the spokesperson for the committee and can be reached through the Ethics Office by mail, email, fax, or phone. Direct inquiries to the Ethics Office; not to individual members of the committee.

Ethics Office Information:

The Ethics Committee is staffed by Administrator Jerry Anderson and Administrative Assistant Jacqueline Yeagle. The office, located in Anchorage, is open Monday through Friday.

Contact the Ethics Office at:

Select Committee on Legislative Ethics
PO Box 90251
Anchorage AK 99509-0251
(907) 269-0150 phone
(907) 269-0152 fax

Staff to the Select Committee on Legislative Ethics

Jerry D. Anderson, Committee Administrator

Administrator responsibilities include:

  • Provide administrative support to the nine-member committee
  • Issue informal advice*
  • Answer questions about the Ethics Act
  • Prepare and distribute a bi-monthly newsletter
  • Receive and review all required disclosures
  • Investigate complaints
  • Provide mandatory yearly training for legislators and staff on ethics issues and compliance
  • Publish advisory opinions and public decisions
  • Maintain the Ethics website
  • Prepare and produce a yearly Standards of Conduct Handbook
  • Monitor and recommend Ethics legislation
  • Work closely with the Alaska Public Offices Commission

* Individuals subject to the Ethics Act and members of the public may request informal advice about the Ethics Act from the Ethics Committee staff. The request may be by phone, mail, email or fax. The response will be in writing if requested. Although staff advice is given in good faith, it does not necessarily reflect the opinions of the members of the Ethics Committee and it is not binding on the committee. Informal advice is cleansed of all identifying information and reviewed by the Ethics Committee at their next meeting. Only individuals subject to the Ethics Act may request a formal, binding advisory opinion pursuant to AS 24.60.160.

Jacqueline Yeagle, Administrative Assistant