FAQ's & Links
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Who is covered by the Ethics Act?
Legislators, most legislative employees, and the public members of the Ethics Committee. AS 24.60.020
Who may request informal advice from committee staff?
Individuals subject to the Ethics Act and members of the public may request informal advice. AS 24.60.158
Who may request a formal, binding advisory opinion from the Ethics Committee?
Only individuals subject to the Ethics Act and persons newly elected to the legislature may request an advisory opinion. AS 24.60.160
Who may file an ethics complaint?
Anyone who believes the Legislative Ethics Act has been violated may file a complaint with the Ethics Committee. AS 24.60.170(b)
What do I need to do to file an ethics complaint?
Submit a complaint in writing, complaint forms are available on the ethics website or by request. Provide as much information as possible about the allegation. Sign the complaint before a notary and then either deliver or mail the complaint to the Ethics office. AS 24.60.170(b)
May a legislator or a legislative employee hold a job outside the legislature?
Yes, as long as the second employer is paying the legislator or legislative employee for the duties related to the second job. Duties related to the second job must be performed without the use of state resources and not on legislative time.
May a legislator or legislative employee accept a gift valued at $250 or more if the gift was given because of the recipient's legislative status?
No, a legislator or legislative employee may not accept a gift or gifts, given because of the recipient's legislative status, valued $250 or more in aggregate from a single person or entity in a calendar year. If the value of a gift or gifts totals $250 or more in a calendar year, the gift must be returned. Gifts of this nature from lobbyists are prohibited. AS 24.60.080(a)
May a legislator or legislative employee accept a gift of travel/hospitality from an individual/organization for a trip connected to a matter of legislative concern?
Yes. If the value of the gift (i.e. travel, hotel, meals, etc.) is $250 or more, the gift must be disclosed to the Ethics Office within 60 days of the beginning date of the travel/hospitality. AS 24.60.080(c)(4)
OTHER LINKS OF INTEREST
Alaska Public Offices Commission
Alaska Legislature Home Page
State of Alaska Home Page
State of Alaska Executive Ethics
State of Alaska Office of Victims’ Rights
State of Alaska Ombudsman
Council on Governmental Ethics Laws
U.S. Office of Government Ethics
U.S. Legislative Branch (Congress)
U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO)
US Senate Select Committee on Ethics
US House Committee on Standards of Official Conduct
U.S. Executive Branch (agencies)
U.S. Department of Justice
U.S. Office of Special Council
U.S. Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board
U.S. Inspectors General